An August and Burning Heart

Augustine and the child at Carthage

Today’s feast of St. Augustine brings us face to face with his overwhelmingly massive impact on Latin Christianity and Western Civilization. What has not been touched in some way by Augustine’s towering intellect and ardent spirit in the Christianities of the West? Spanning from just war to the separation of church and state; from the relationship between grace and nature to methods of biblical interpretation; from the nature of sin to the meaning of salvation; from the Trinity to epistemology; from sacraments to sexuality — Western Christians all must contend with the mark of his philosophical/theological worldview.

The 16th century reformation scholar who taught me ‘Christian intellectual history’ in college once said it well: “The 16th century protestant and catholic reformations in Europe could be handily summarized as, ‘What did Augustine really mean?’”

Deep Mystery

Here today I will simply share a well-known anecdote that captures a key perspective on Augustine.

Augustine was walking one day along the seashore in Carthage, north Africa pondering his written work-in-progress on the mystery of the Holy Trinity, De Trinitate, when he saw a small boy running back and forth from the Mediterranean sea to a spot on the sandy seashore. The boy was using a sea shell to carry the water from the sea in order to pour it into a small hole in the sand.

Augustine approached him and asked, “My boy, what are doing?”

“I am trying to empty the sea into this hole,” the boy replied.

Augustine continued, “But that’s impossible, my dear child, the hole cannot contain all that water.”

The boy paused from his work, stood up, looked a the bishop, and replied, “It is no more impossible than what you are attempting, to comprehend the immensity of mystery in the Holy Trinity with your small mind.”

Augustine, amazed by the response averted his eyes for a moment, and when he glanced back to ask him something else, the boy had vanished.

Augustine always held in his thought a great appreciation of the limits of language before the immensity of God, though he also held great confidence in the capacity of language to open our minds of clay to a real communion with divine Truth. That said, one gets the clear sense in his writings that it is only humble and living faith working through an equally bold and living love that can make our tiny, questing minds — made in the imago Trinitatis, ‘image of the Trinity’ — capable of exploring the infinite wilderness of God’s trinitarian mystery (capax Dei). And more, once the mind receives that divine mystery within, it finds itself in Christ, set ablaze with a divine-human love that plunges ever-deeper into that selfsame igneous mystery. Knowing God brings love alive in us, and love sparks the desire for more knowledge. This dynamic seems to inform a very-often quoted passage from his Confessions:

Late have I loved you, O Beauty ever ancient, ever new, late have I loved you! You were within me, but I was outside, and it was there that I searched for you. In my unloveliness I plunged into the lovely things which you created. You were with me, but I was not with you. Created things kept me from you; yet if they had not been in you they would have not been at all. You called, you shouted, and you broke through my deafness. You flashed, you shone, and you dispelled my blindness. You breathed your fragrance on me; I drew in breath and now I pant for you. I have tasted you, now I hunger and thirst for more. You touched me, and I burned for your peace.

Every theologian, inspired by Augustine, should pray for the grace of a burning intellect that flames out of, and in service to, the mystery of divine love. But every theologian should also be aware (beware!) that this intellectual fire, when it is allowed to descend into the heart, burns away all that is unworthy of the mind and heart of Jesus and drives him/her on in an impassioned quest for Heaven’s Hound. Our Augustine-loving Pope Emeritus Benedict certainly remains such a witness, and here, in his own words, unveils the Augustinian inner-drive behind his own heroic intellectual and pastoral career:

When a person is conquered by the fire of His Gaze, no sacrifice seems too great to follow him.

“Jesus looked at him with love…” Mk. 10:21

An Anecdote

Once when I was working with a parish RCIA program, there was a gentleman who had entered the process because his 7 year old daughter was preparing to receive first Communion and he, an un-Confirmed and lapsed Catholic, felt he had “nothing to offer her” in response to her many probing questions about his faith God. He said with a hint of guilt tinged with apathy, “I’m doing this for her.”

Although I had some concerns about his motive, I trusted that the Spirit would use this as an opportunity for him to own his Catholic faith. By the end of the process, this man was our most enthusiastic Candidate and each week we had to practically kick him out of the building as he pressed us to entertain “just one more question.” On the day of the pre-Lenten Election retreat, he shared with the whole group this marvelous story:

I began this program for my daughter, because I love her. But now, I realize that I began this program because I am loved by God, who chose my daughter to call me back to Himself. I mean, before I started this program, I would never even consider cracking open a Bible. Boring! Now, I can’t get enough. Before it was just a history book full of fairy takes, but now it’s God’s love letter to me.

Maher on Augustine

I will leave you to sing with a Matt Maher video that I post every August 28, just because it’s a personal fav:

This entry was posted in Saints.

6 comments on “An August and Burning Heart

  1. Fr. Mark E. Moretti says:

    Happy Feast Day Dr. Neal!! Said a special prayer for you and the family at the 6:30 Mass this morning. This was one of your best posts, and so I have printed it out to use for a little “lectio” if you don’t mind:)

    I always love that story about St. Augustine and the Holy Trinity. When I lived in Tunisia many years ago, I used to visit Amilcar beach, and strolled along the same spot where Augustine encountered the child Jesus. It always made an impression on me. Anyway, I thought I would pass along a little side anecdote about your story of the fellow in your RCIA class…

    Every year at my former parish, I would personally teach the RCIA class. The roster would usually be full by August, but I would put in the parish bulletin an announcement that the RCIA class was open to anyone who wished to audit. I said it would be a great way to renew an adult understanding of the Faith. In response, I received a call from a woman who said that she had recently returned to Mass after being away for 20 years. I told her how happy I was and she said that she would like to attend the RCIA. I said that would really help her get back on her feet intellectually, spiritually and communally. She replied: I have a question for you. Will there be time each week for me to debate with you the teachings of the Church that I disagree with? I pulled the telephone receiver away from my ear for a moment in amusement and I said absolutely not! I continued that I set aside 90 minutes a week to teach Catholic truth to those who are seeking it…who (like St. Augustine) hunger and thirst for divine wisdom and knowledge tending toward salvation. The world, in many cases, has already done its damage in the lives of these good souls, and I refuse to give the world and its errors any voice, time or attention. I was admittedly abrupt, but I needed to nip that concept in the bud straight away. Well, to my amazement, she came devotedly to every class, sat in the front, and listened attentively as we worked our way through “This is our Faith” by Michael Pennock, and all the additional readings.

    At the party after the Easter Vigil, she came up to me and thanked me for the class. She said you might remember that I wanted time for a debate when we first spoke to each other in August. What I really sought was someone to teach me, once again, the truths of the Faith that had been passed along to me as a youth, but had chosen to abandon. She said I did that better than she could have ever hoped. I actually blushed from her compliment, and thanked her. She had been through a process very similar to our great saint we celebrate today, with the same salutary effects. Praise God for the grace of the Holy Spirit in our lives!

    • Fr. Mark, such a powerful witness to the gift that God has given you: serene confidence in the truth of the Faith that refuses to begin with a “hermeneutic of suspicion” but rather begins with a “hermeneutic of love” that conquers all. May God make your lectio fruitful, and bring more people to receive the Gospel from you – a man who trusted God enough on Amilcar beach of ancient Carthage to say yes to “entering the mystery.” I know my family has been blessed beyond measure by that “yes!”

  2. WoopieCushion says:

    set ablaze with a divine-human love that plunges ever-deeper into that selfsame igneous mystery

  3. […] Seasons of. . . St. Augustine and the Jews – Thomas L. McDonald, God and the Machine An August & Burning Heart – Thomas J. Neal PhD, Nl Obstt Thlgcl Opnng Archbishop Romero and St. Augustine – […]

  4. Anthony says:

    Dear Tom,

    Just so you know, I ‘stole’ “The Shape of Catholic Theology” (which you recommended) from Morgan, and I’ve been eating it up. Another great, great read. The author, O.P., obviously promotes St Thomas, but St Augustine is a close second. :)

    • A great steal, and all Thomists must concede that even Thomas is an Augustinian thinker, though he ever so carefully revised Augustine on so many points. Nichols is hands-down my vote for bestest contemp Engish-language theologian on whom I have an O.P.-crush. :-) Keep reading, O Autodidact! La paz

Leave a Reply

