Dry Wellsprings

I had a holy-as-hell spiritual director in the early 1990s who was talking to me one time about my prayer life – how I was struggling with ‘dryness’ in prayer. It lacked ‘cash value’ in giving me the psychological fuzzies I was desiring.

At the time he was in his 60s, and was known by his parishioners for his unrelenting fidelity to his daily, pre-dawn holy hour.

He said, ‘Tom, I will confide something to you. For the last 20 years my prayer has been dust. But you pray. You show up and look at Him. It’s what you do for the people and the One you love.’

Yes, his prayer felt like dry dust to him; but for those of us around him it gushed living waters everywhere.

This entry was posted in Prayer.

Leave a Reply

