Deliver me, O God

Today is my birthday, and, by my parents’ design, also my day of baptism. Born and re-born in one day. The first birth was labored by my Mom, the second was labored by God. The first birth delivered me into a fallen world, the second delivered me from a fallen world. The first birth placed in my mother’s arms a Temple, the second birth filled that Temple with all the fullness of God.

And on we could go, ad infinitum, extolling the dignity and majesty of our twofold birth! So remember to never allow a year to pass without honoring both labors and both deliveries!

14 comments on “Deliver me, O God

  1. Jeane Bishop says:

    Happy Birthday, Tom!
    Did you hear that our mutual friend, Rachel, gave birth to John Paul yesterday, 8/17!!
    The report I received is that mother and son are well.
    Jeane

  2. Lisa B says:

    Happy birthday Tom. That picture is awesome.

  3. Tim Roach says:

    Happy Birthday Tom,
    Thanks for taking the time to write the Neal Obstat every day.
    Hey to Patti. God bless you and your family.
    Tim

  4. Amanda says:

    Happy Birthday, Tom!! What a beautiful tribute…peace to you and yours! Pax Christi, amanda

  5. Susan Kehoe says:

    Ad multos annos Tom! We miss you here in Des Moines. At least we have this blog when in need of profound insights. God bless. Susan.

  6. tracye1 says:

    Happy birthday! My son shares the day with you! Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

  7. Judy Svendsen says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Tom!! I hope you had a great day!! Tell Patti and the kids hi. I hope everyone likes their new schools! We just went to our last Freshman mass at DCHS! Hard to believe our last one is in high school.

Leave a Reply

