Raising Good Kids: Books

After my first child was born, a gentleman once gave me this piece of advice on parenting: ‘The best recipe for raising good kids is good books, good music, good friends and your good marriage.’

So, in that spirit, let me share with you a good article about good books for your 7-12 year old good kids:

In recommending books to be read by young people from the age of seven to the age of twelve, this critic’s problem is not paucity, but plenitude. For the number of good books for young people is large, and it increases every year. Read more…

10 comments on “Raising Good Kids: Books

  1. Thank you for sharing this. While I do not have children of my own at present, this is something I have been thinking about. There are traditions I would like to start with my godson. Gifting him with good books to read is one. Also, as a bookworm and a youth minister I am always looking for reminders of great books to pass on to young people. We all need inspiration. Even as adults we need to nurture the child like imagination within.

  2. Tim Roach says:

    Tom, being a teacher in the public school system I see what the elementary and middle school students are reading. 50-60% of it is some sort of bizarre science fiction where vampires are killing vampires, witches are killing witches and zombies are killing zombies, or zombies are killing witches, witches are killing vampires or vampires and zombies are killing everyone, or “normal” children are rescuing vampires, witches and/or zombies from less than ideal circumstances. It’s horrible to observe this and I always interject that, perhaps they should be reading something happier.

  3. Amanda Frank says:

    This is such a great post, thank you for sharing! I think the scariest part about being a parent is knowing that it’s your responsibility to try to teach your children so much as they grow, mainly how to grow to be good people. I just read a great book I’d like to share with other parents called “Teaching Kids to Be Good People” by Annie Fox, M.Ed. You can check her and the book out on the website http://www.anniefox.com/. It’s a wonderful read and I’d recommend it to anyone. Thanks again for the post and for this wonderful list of books! With the content that’s out there directed at young children, it’s nice to see a list of GOOD books that I feel comfortable seeing my kids read!

  4. annielfox says:

    Hello, Thomas. By coincidence, or probably not, I am reading your post in a public library. Thank you for sharing this comprehensive list and excellent reminder by the late Russell Kirk. Books offer so much wisdom for children (and adults) about the world and the way people respond to what happens in life. I love film and theatre as well, but there is something unique in the way we process printed information on page (or screen.) The “time is stopped” quality that allows us to savor the words and the descriptions of characters, settings, emotions, conflicts. Great children’s books (the only kind worth offering to our children) have the ability to open windows, doors, futures. Excuse me now, while I check out these books!

  5. Tom Neal says:

    Fabulous — I absolutely will check them out for my kids! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

