Blog Sabbath, Deo gratias!

Dear Nealobstat Readers:

Periodically I have to take a break from my blog writing to attend to the myriad details that assail me. And periodically I have to give your Inbox a rest!

It’s time, and this time it may be a while.

I hope to resume sometime in the summer.

Let us pray for one another.

I am genuinely amazed, deeply grateful and exceedingly humbled to know that anyone reads what I write and benefits from it in their faith life. Deo gratias!

I have loved writing this Blog and engaging in exchanges with so many extraordinary people of faith. Nealobstat has become for me over the last couple of years a sort of Jeremiah 20:9 experience, so I will have to see what happens over the next weeks as I transition to other forms of writing on into the summer (I am hoping a book and an article).

I will leave you (1) with my personal favorite blog post out of the 601 (click here) and (2) with a quote that sums up in brief the very soul of everything I am trying to say in all I write about Christ and his life-giving Cross. And maybe you’ll say: you could have saved yourself a lot of time by leaving it at this!

For true love is inexhaustible; the more you give, the more you have. And if you go to draw at the true fountainhead, the more water you draw, the more abundant is its flow.
— Antoine de Saint-Exupery

16 comments on “Blog Sabbath, Deo gratias!

  1. […] Let us pray Go to the Source: Neal Obstat Theological Opining […]

  2. WhoopieCushion says:

    ALLELUIA! ALLELUIA! BUT…This is the worst April Fools joke EVER! I protest!!!!
    ps-I knew that was gonna be ‘your fav’ : )

    • I love that you protest, and more than you knew my ‘fav’ before you clicked it, and I regret to say this is not April’s fool joke…but a long discerned decision to transfer all my writing energy to an article I am contracted to write and the (God willing!) book I have long felt stirring in me. Your WhoopieCushion passion I will miss nearly most of all in this sabbath, surpassed only by the inner driving fire that burned through this Blog within me toward you all. Detachment is hard for me who am a pyromaniac by nature! 🙂
      We will have to turn our communio subterranean in email, my Oil-drenched friend. Pray for me and I for thee!
      Joying,
      Tom

  3. beads2rosaries says:

    Publish or Perish! Congrats on the new endeavors. Now I must search out new ways to feed the theological fire in my spirit – as combined with his Spirit. I insist on an autographed copy of the book – which I presume will be about Our Lord, yes?

    • Indeed, publish or perish! I am certain you will find new sources to feed your fire, and am supremely complemented that you found such here. Yes, my book will be some form of extrapolation on Christ and Him Crucified — what else is there? You taught me that! Thanks for your words here and always.

  4. Kathy Behm says:

    Dear Tom, I will miss your insightful “opinings.” Your words always stir up the spiritual pot and sets my heart boiling! I hope you will share your beautiful insights and poetry with me in the future. My love to you and your lovely wife and children!

    Your traveling companion, Kathy

    Sent from my iPad

  5. rozanncarter says:

    Oh darn! I just discovered your blog (Fr. Steve, my boss at Word on Fire, sent the entire staff your post on the Pope), and I have been thoroughly enjoying your writing! Thank goodness I have 601 posts to catch up on. I loved your “personal favorite”– thank you so much. God bless you on your sabbatical!

  6. B Riggs says:

    This makes me sad, as I have thoroughly enjoyed your intelligent and insightful writing. I assume your body of work on this blog will remain posted so that I may revisit it. May God bless you in your new efforts. I hope I encounter your work again.

  7. WhoopieCushion says:

    I CRAVE MANNA IN THIS EASTER DESERT!!!

  8. Pining for the Courts says:

    How long, O LORD?

Leave a Reply

