No greater love…

A dear friend of mine sent me a wonderful, very powerful 11-minute video on a remarkable teacher who is also the father of a disabled son. If you can spare the time, and have not yet seen it, I recommend it; and offer here below this quote from Bl. John Paul II for your reflection:

There is no doubt that in revealing the fundamental frailty of the human condition, the disabled person becomes an expression of the tragedy of pain. In this world of ours that approves hedonism and is charmed by ephemeral and deceptive beauty, the difficulties of the disabled are often perceived as a shame or a provocation and their problems as burdens to be removed or resolved as quickly as possible. Disabled people are, instead, living icons of the crucified Son. They reveal the mysterious beauty of the One who emptied himself for our sake and made himself obedient unto death. They show us, over and above all appearances, that the ultimate foundation of human existence is Jesus Christ. It is said, justifiably so, that disabled people are humanity’s privileged witnesses. They can teach everyone about the love that saves us; they can become heralds of a new world, no longer dominated by force, violence and aggression, but by love, solidarity and acceptance, a new world transfigured by the light of Christ, the Son of God who became incarnate, who was crucified and rose for us.

 

8 comments on “No greater love…

  1. Kathy Behm says:

    Interesting that I get this as I pray on my knees for my son. Why as I agonize did I just happen to open my mail and get your message?
    I found out last year that my son Alex has a rare eye disease that will lead to blindness just recently he asked his Dad when he should give up his license. He just graduated from College has a promising career and what do you say? I do want to believe what you have shared and I do believe it but not right now. As a mother my heart breaks. I have spent his whole life preparing him to succeed in life. How do you watch your grown son launch out into the world only to have the lights go out and he is all alone where no amount of my comfort can reach him. My deepest cry is that He will experience a new world transfigured by the Light of Christ the Son of God whose humiliating death and seeming defeat was the means of our salvation. (His salvation)….

    • You pray (and are!) like Jesus in Gethsemane, pleading to God from the deepest guts for deliverance from the Chalice but surrendered to whatever He permits. St Augustine’s prayer responds magnificently to your cry for strength to embrace whatever may come: “Lord, give what you command and command what you will.” Thank you for your breathtaking authenticity, Kathy. Our prayers are with you…

  2. Mary Langlois says:

    Wow!

    Sent from by iPad

  3. […] A dear friend of mine sent me a wonderful, very powerful 11-minute video on a remarkable teacher who is also the father of a disabled son. If you can spare the time, and have not yet seen it, I recommend it; and offer here below this quote from Bl. John …read more […]

  4. WoopieCushion says:

    Quieted with tears at the Cross. Strange alchemy of joy and sorrow given through this rabbinic icon of Paschal Love. Desire stirs to be and live for the most vulnerable. Bl. JPII, pray for us!

  5. djkron says:

    Just awesome, what an example of the kind of man I hope to grow up to be. I’m 54.

Leave a Reply

