When Pain Prays

This is a theological poem (of rough meter!) I wrote 10 years ago after I experienced a painful trial — in it, I wonder in faith where God’s voice breaks into the silence of pain.  The insight came to me early in the a.m. on a Passion Sunday.

Why hast Thou?

In mystic tremor I gaze on pain,

its chaos of sudden descends;

I hear way down within prayer

infused into my tearful rain:

‘Why?’

But of me it came not, no, not of mine

but rather this solitary, single Word who

from God to God ascends;

and only in deadest silence is it heard.

Lo!

Such thundering, savage deeds seem to crush

— even now, see, God is overrun!

From there stirs a single Word alone

hewn from Christ-wood in prayer

plunged far into my deepest fear,

deep down, lowest low

beneath the blackened sun

where God is himself, darkened, dead,

who shed

our every last, very most bitter tear.

Only then, there though

when His lifeless corpse was laid

within a tomb of seem’d despair

could we find hopelessness die,

alas to lastly fade

before the terrifying majesty

of dawn’s gentlest, rising Flare.

5 comments on “When Pain Prays

  1. WoopieCushion says:

    I give God glory for your acceptance of this plunge those years ago that has produced nourishing fruit for the hungry. Should I dare ask this grace?

  2. DZSJ-AMDG says:

    “But of me it came not, no, not of mine

    but rather this solitary, single Word who

    from God to God ascends;

    and only in deadest silence is it heard.”

    This is my favorite part. All of a sudden, the sufferer no longer feels alone but knows him/herself to be in the presence of God and in the company of God. Beautiful, thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

