Contrasting views of the body

I am usually loathe to just put into my Blog linked articles, but it’s busy these days and this pair of articles that my wife passed on to me the other day was just too amazingly insightful to not pass on to you.

The first is an inspiring and intimate look, via a photo-journal, at the journey of a married couple through terminal illness. Then right after that article-link, as a sort of ironic foil, I include a “youtube summary” of one conception of bodily perfection that dismally fails to identify what is truly worthy of the greatness of real embodied human dignity.

1. When I saw these incredible photos Angelo Merendino took of his wife, Jennifer, as she battled breast cancer, I felt that I shouldn’t be seeing this snapshot of their intimate, private lives. The photos humanize the face of cancer and capture the difficulty, fear, and pain that they experienced during the difficult time. But as Angelo commented: “These photographs do not define us, but they are us.” See photos here.

2. There is the reason that even when I was in really great shape, wore a size 4, and was healthy, it was never good enough for me. All of my logic and intelligence have trouble combatting what I’ve seen as “perfect” day after day for my entire life. Well, I want to see more of this. I want to show my daughter, over and over, why the images of so many women she sees aren’t realistic. And what I really want is for us to stop turning beautiful women into drawings and passing them off as real. See video here.

2 comments on “Contrasting views of the body

  1. Erin Wenham says:

    That is so beautiful. 5:15 and I’m already crying. So so hauntingly beautiful.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

