Winter in New Orleans

Our brush with winter in NOLA this week was nearly as interesting as our brush with the tropics via Hurricane Isaac back in 2012.

To that effect, I just had to share a picture of my daughter Maria holding a “sleet ball” taken from our car windshield on Tuesday afternoon, as well as a brief video that my son took of the drinking fountain next to the levee during the storm. Then below that is a spectacular NOAA satellite view from the height of the storm on Tuesday.

To me, it’s all such a thrill. You see, before my theology days I had studied to be a meteorologist, and so whenever the weather gets interesting I get, well, excited. Had I lived in the 13th century B.C., I would likely have been at the foot of Mt. Sinai wondering how to insert a dropsonde (an airborne weather reconnaissance device) into the roiling Theophany to determine its inner convection dynamics.

You see, my “issues” run deep…

Cold and chill, bless the Lord
Dew and rain, bless the Lord
Frost and chill, bless the Lord
Ice and snow, bless the Lord — Daniel 3:67-70

MariaSleet

SAT

4 comments on “Winter in New Orleans

  1. WoopieCushion says:

    If you need to talk about any of your issues I’m here for you : ) The pic of your daughter with the snowball reminds me of metaphysics class when the professor would look with adoring eyes at a little stone that he had named and cry out with wonder…”It IIIIIIIISSSSSS!”

  2. amyansaturday says:

    I love this post…I wanted to be s meteorologist coming out of high school but the nearest school was California. Way to far for a small town Iowa girl!

Leave a Reply

