Double dip

I want to apologize for the double post yesterday (St. Man and What is Faith?) — a slip of the wordpress date entry on my part. Hence today I will not post a new one to allow you time to read both posts, if you wish.

My consoling quotes for the day:

“A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.”  — George Bernard Shaw

“If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly.” — GK Chesterton

3 comments on “Double dip

  1. Dismas Dancing says:

    Both quotes remind me of my own philosophy re “regret”. The rationale? “Sorrow aroused by circumstances beyond one’s control or power to repair.” (Webster’s NInth…) The operative phrase “beyond one’s control…” Actions beyond one’s control, at least in my life, are rare. I cannot look back and review almost 7 decades and excuse myself and the stupidity of my actions with the convenient phrase, “I regret…” Fill in the rest of the sentence with whatever you want.

    “Well, if you don’t ‘regret’ some of your acts/actions, how do you feel about them?” I am asked. My sincere reply is that I hold a deep, contrite sorrow for them and beg those whom I have hurt, AND My God, for forgiveness, IF they can find it within their hearts to do so. Perhaps that is “regret” by definition. But I know that, whether by omission or commission, I have purposely done things I knew at the time I should not have done, NOT with the Flip Wilson excuse, “The Devil made me do it?” I certainly have had plenty of temptation from the “Enemy” and all his minions; but, in the final analysis, it was I who made the final decision, not some “act of God” over which I had no control.

    So what’s the point? I pray that this does not come across in a cavalier manner, but, through those actions, errors, stupidities, mistakes (honest and otherwise), I have learned how to better navigate the minefield we call the secular world, sharing my experiences, whether success or failure, with those who ask me for a roadmap. That’s not to say I am no longer a sinner. Far from it. And my roadmap is personal. It may or may not apply to those who ask. But there are some guarantees I can make based on the number of mines on which I have purposefully trod as well as those having serious consequences, about which I was warned, but chose to ignore. Consequences of some actions are almost always universal, regardless of who engages in them. And so I offer a warning, especially to the young-uns in my family and those with whom I come in contact through church or other ministries, to beware of certain things that can and will bury you. I don’t have time to relate it herein, but I have a funny story about one of my daughters, her tongue, and a hot frying pan and the not-so-funny consequences of failing to listen to her mom. Such are the experiences of life which the two gentlemen you quote have so wonderfully captured.

    In any case, thanks for the reminder about the “consequences” of doing nothing. Being “in the arena” and learning from our participation in it is, in fact, living. Anything else resembles death in so many ways. Flawed though I have been, My God has blessed me with the gift of life, all its warts, its thorned pathways, and its beautiful avenues of redemption when we finally come to grips with the “real” in the reality of why God put us here in the first place.

    As always, thanks, Dr. Tom, for sharing those two quotes. Pax tecum!

    • Wisdom, let us attend! I appreciate so much when you deepen my insights with your hard-won life experience illumined by the light of Faith. Your vision here is hope filled because it is so real, Dismas. I pray your retreat went well the other weekend. I wish I could have been there to hear you live — I imagine you as what my father called a “character” — of which there are not enough any more. Pax tecum, frater et magister. Tom

  2. Dismas Dancing says:

    Dr Tom, the retreat was, to use modern hyperbole, “Absolutely Awesome!” We had 24 men in attendance. All, including those of us leading it, experienced, once again, life changing moments. In my life time I have attended many retreats. I can honestly say that, from the start of this one until the priest’s dismissal at the concluding parish Mass on Sunday, the Holy Spirit’s presence was palpable. Perhaps I have yet to “come down from the mountain” of that experience; but if every retreat I attend in the remainder of my life on earth includes similar blessings from the Holy Spirit, then both my spiritual and physical life shall be richly blessed indeed.

    Thanks for asking. And many thanks for your prayers and those of your followers. The power of that cannot be understated.

    And yes, I have many times been called “a character”, among other things. But your comments are always humbling, inspirational, and much appreciated. God’s peace and blessings be with you.

Leave a Reply

