Laboring Saints

Taken from hotflick.net

Today is the Feast of St. Joseph the Worker. Love it! To mix things up today, I took an old post from May 1, 2012 and decided to record myself reading it. So, we will see whether or not Neal Obstat can be transformed into NealQuil™

You have to go to my Blogsite to listen:

11 comments on “Laboring Saints

  1. Jennifer says:

    Three things:
    1)I have to wholeheartedly agree with your remedy for sloth! I tell everyone who will listen that the most important spiritual growth I’ve ever experienced came from resolving to clean the cat’s litter box (my ickiest chore that I always avoided and hoped my husband would do first) every single time I walked past it with a prayer of thanksgiving. Not joking, it changed my life! Also, God has a great sense of humour: I was praying for patience and that I would embrace the job he is giving me right here and now as my true vocation instead of seeing the day-to-day stuff as obstacles to holiness. The Lord answered my prayers with a houseful of head lice! Nothing like hours upon hours bent over a gaggle of squirming kids’ heads checking strand after strand of hair to put that into practice. Deo Gratias!
    2) Thanks to my canadian spelling, I never realized until today that collaborate literally means to co-labour. Cool!
    3) “The laity consecrate the world itself to God!” Wow! What a marvel! What a grace!

    Bless you in YOUR work today! St. Joseph, pray for us!

    +JMJ+

  2. Liz says:

    A timely and needed reflection as I’m getting ready to head out the door not with great joy. But now I’m not going to work, I’m going to my school of virtue! Loved listening to this blog post, took me right back to being in your classroom. Perhaps a DrTomNeal podcast in the future??

  3. WoopieCushion says:

    Preach it Neal! Joseph must have received so much inspiration from the faces of Mary and Jesus for his work.

  4. Victorious Love says:

    Thank you for continuing to speak of the holiness of work contained in the beauty of the lay vocation. For pointing to the reality of holiness within daily life. Always drawing attention to what may appear to be ordinary, even bothersome contains a great treasure of graces. “To miss the immensely valuable grace planted in the midst of our struggles and hardships…. It’s only in struggle that grows virtue.” A good grounding in reality.
    I believe the bells ringing out in the background behind you were in complete agreement! 😄

  5. Lisa says:

    I love hearing your voice again.

Leave a Reply

