St. Ignatius, Pebbles and Bam Bam

onsugar.com

Re-post from 2012

He did not consider nor did he stop to examine this difference until one day his eyes were partially opened and he began to wonder at this difference and to reflect upon it. From experience he knew that some thoughts left him desolate while others made him consoled, and little by little he came to perceive the different spirits that were moving him; one coming from the devil, the other coming from God (St. Ignatius of Loyola, Autobiography, no. 8).

For those of you who, like me, found the Flinstones to be a cartoon-staple as a child, you’ll appreciate this.

For whatever reason, a tune from one of the episodes popped into my head today. It was the episode where Pebbles and Bam Bam get to sing at the Hollyrock Palace. I played it for my kids on youtube this morning at breakfast, and they (mostly) loved it. Every day at breakfast I play random songs and sing, to try to bring some levity to the morning. As I listened to the words, which I had not heard since the 1970s, I realized that the author of that song must have been a thoroughly Ignatian thinker. No, really, seriously. I tried to explain that to one of my sons, but he objected that I had a knack for ruining perfectly good things by overthinking them. I could not deny it.

Okay, to speak Iggy-speak, their song, Let the Sun Shine In, talks about shooing away shadowy diabolic desolation by clinging to luminous divine consolations given through prayer. Too awesome.

Below are the lyrics, but listen here for yourself:

Mommy told me something a little girl should know
It’s all about the Devil and I’ve learned to hate him so
She says he causes trouble when you let him in the room
He will never ever leave you if your heart is filled with gloom

So, let the sun shine in, face it with a grin
Smilers never lose and frowners never win
So, let the sun shine in, face it with a grin
Open up your heart and let the sun shine in

When you are unhappy, the Devil wears a grin
But oh, he starts a-running when the light comes pouring in
I know he’ll be unhappy ’cause I’ll never wear a frown
Maybe if we keep on smiling he’ll get tired of hangin’ around

If I forget to say my prayers the Devil jumps with glee
But he feels so awful, awful, when he sees me on my knees
So if you’re full of trouble and you never seem to win
Just open up your heart and let the sun shine in

So, let the sun shine in, face it with a grin
Smilers never lose and frowners never win
So, let the sun shine in, face it with a grin
Open up your heart and let the sun shine in

10 comments on “St. Ignatius, Pebbles and Bam Bam

  1. “Flintstones – meet the Flintstones” – thanks for putting that tune in my head all day. There is much wisdom in animation – particular a classic such as this. After all, Jesus said that the children should come to him. At times, it is best for our minds to think as a child to obtain something from the heavens which is profound.

  2. oneview says:

    Hee hee hee…I loved Pebbles and Bam Bam when I was a kid. Can you find any theology in The Jetsons?

  3. n.o.s. says:

    While your fulfilling oneviews request take a look at magillagorilla ,ricochet rabbit and my personal favorite the highest and boo boo.good coverage please don’t stop overturning. One of these days your sons and I will get it. P.B.W.Y. AGAPE TO all .

  4. Ona says:

    As my niece says with an uncomprehending grimace when adults do weird things: “Srsly????” I am imagining the breakfast scene and laughing.

  5. Dismas Dancing says:

    First, thanks sincerely to you, Brother Tom, Jennifer, N.O.S., Frank, et.al, for the generous comments and for your prayers for M and all our family. I am genuinely humbled by both. When I shared them with M this morning, I was literally awash with tears of joy and thanksgiving. In them I know that Our Lord in His Divine Mercy is sending you guys to us, each one of you a sign, much like Noah’s rainbow, that we are fully embraced in the comfort of the truth of Jesus’ words, “where two or more are gathered in My Name, there I am also.” We know we could never be in the company of better friends. Thanks to you; and Deo Gratias for His Infinite Mercy and Love.

    Secondly, all I can offer re this post is “WOW!” Reminds me of the words of another song, from the 70s I believe, “If you could read my mind, love, what a tale my thoughts could tell…” Providence, Providence, Providence. Yesterday, after I had punched “send” on my reply, I got a phone call from the elder of my sons. He has lived in England for 23 years plus, is a stage and screen actor, producer, director, is married to an equally-talented and beautiful lady, together with whom they are rearing two handsome boys. He, too, is struggling both physically and mentally, finally coming to a realization that he simply cannot win ANY battle unless he 1) admits he has a problem; 2) humbly seeks guidance from both God and the human professionals He inserts into our lives to provide human cures. As I myself had done earlier in my life, he needed to lean on his father for comfort, counsel, and consolation. I listened for over an hour, ultimately sharing pieces of the things that I included in my posted reply yesterday. The Holy Spirit was close by, encouraging me to refrain entirely from judgment, anger, or criticism. Once again, His merciful guidance proved calming and reassuring, enabling another son and his father to have a beautiful (and quite literally, a “come to Jesus”) moment. His younger brother, just before undertaking that painful move, flew to London less than two weeks ago to “be there” for him in an especially difficult hour of need. Truly embodied the truth of another great song, “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother!” The elder said of his younger brother, “He truly is my BEST friend!” I am sinful in my pride in both of them. They reflect well Paul’s admonition to “bear one another’s burdens.”

    Then, this morning, up jumps Professor Tom with a long-forgotten song from one of my children’s favorite TV programs of their childhood. Oh! What a message. Just what we need to top off the healing wisdom of the “Sleeping in Mercy” guidance. Like N.O.S. and other fans, Brother Tom, I acknowledge that you have a beautiful gift directly from the Holy Spirit that enables you to provide messages of hope, promise, comfort, counsel, and consolation when most of us who follow you need it the most. Your message today is perfect for that elder son and, in fact, for all of us. I sent the June 30th post and comments to the younger son with whom I travelled over the weekend, encouraging him to subscribe (and perhaps contribute, for he is an excellent scribe) to your Neal Obstat blog. I shall encourage his elder brother to do the same. There is so much wisdom from you, your comments, and the input of all of those whom I follow closely, Jennifer and N.O.S. especially since they always provide timely and poignant comments on your posts.

    Thanks for your patience with my lengthy posts. A friend once told me I was bodaciously verbose. With a smile I accepted it as a compliment. We remain great friends. I assure you that when your own children are as old as my own (46-40), they will remember with great fondness your proclivity for lightening up the morning breakfast table—and other occasions. I suspect there is little grumpiness there, even if they are a bit embarrassed by their Dad’s lighthearted look at the world through deep faith and trust in God. What treasured lessons they will take with them to their own lives and families!

    Prayers of thanksgiving to you, my friend; and God’s rich blessings be with you and all of those who follow you. Thanks, once again, for a beautiful, timely post.

    DD

    • Jennifer says:

      Praise be to God! So happy for your joyful stories of your sons’ returns to the Father. You have no idea how encouraging your reflections are to me in my own life. -J

      • Dismas Dancing says:

        Thanks, Jennifer. You are so very gracious; and I must say I thoroughly enjoy seeing your posts as well. Please keep ’em coming. I eagerly look forward to seeing your comments on Bro Tom’s great posts.

        On a sadder note, we received word a few minutes ago that M’s brother died peacefully at a local hospice facility. His daughter and her own daughter and husband were able to spend several of his last hours with him. While this is intended specifically for M’s brother, Danny, I offer it for all those family and friends. Speaking of friends, I was also informed early this morning that a dear grade school and Catholic HS friend also passed away from cancer yesterday. We had known each other closely for almost 60 years. Were it not for a firm knowledge that My Lord holds us in His comforting embrace as we suffer these losses, it would be easy to sink into deep sorrow and despair. But I know that should I do so, I would hear His gentle voice calmly asking me, “Why are you weeping? I am here.”

        Thanks once again to you and ALL who have been praying for and with us. It is impossible for you to know how comforting that has been to us.

        Eternal rest grant unto him (them) Oh, Lord, and may perpetual light shine upon them. May his (their) soul and all the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

        Peace and blessings to all.

        DD

      • Jennifer says:

        DD, my condolences to you, M, and the family. Requiescat in pace, Danny.

  6. n.o.s. says:

    Dearest D.D. ,Saint Monica must love you very much,first one then the other. I wonder if she had any help from St. Augustine.P.B.W.Y.

    • Dismas Dancing says:

      Brother N.O.S. I certainly hope so, since I am an avid follower of her once prodigal son, Saint Augustine, having prayed for her intercession on my own behalf earlier in life. During my younger son’s absence from the peace of Christ, I prayed often for her help. Both she and her son most certainly have played principal roles in the faith lives of my entire family. Thanks for reminding me, good sir, just how truly blessed we are to have the prayers of each other AND those of some of our greatest saints. Peace, my friend. Thanks so much for the note.

Leave a Reply

