“I saw something like the appearance of fire and brilliant light surrounding Him” (Ezekiel 1:27)

The heavens proclaim the glory of God,
and the firmament shows forth the work of his hands.
Day unto day takes up the story
and night unto night makes known the message. — Psalm 19:2-3

In late July we had a violent evening thunderstorm in Metairie that afterward resolved into a blaze of golden light. Breathtaking! I took this photo out of my car window, though my children strongly protested someone might spy my flip phone as I stopped the car, reached out of the window and snapped the shot.

Allow your imagination to see behind me a departing thunderstorm to the east, casting its billowing doom into a pitch-black sky. I pulled the car over to the side of the road so we could take in this dramatic schism in the heavens, this primordial war between light and darkness. To the west the sun serenely claimed its golden triumph, while to the east the darkness rumbled in fierce anger, shooting forth darting streaks of piercing light. The contrast between them was stunning. Against the threats of an angry night, the sun dusted the fleeing clouds with gentle protests of hope. In the end, though the sun indeed fell below the western horizon, it was the terrible storm itself that perished, while the sun, still alive beneath the earth, patiently awaited the coming of dawn in the east.

I later thought of that line in Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath:

A large drop of sun lingered on the horizon and then dripped over and was gone, and the sky was brilliant over the spot where it had gone, and a torn cloud hung over the spot of its going … and darkness crept over the land from the east.

0729152002 (1)

This entry was posted in Cool.

9 comments on ““I saw something like the appearance of fire and brilliant light surrounding Him” (Ezekiel 1:27)

  1. LP says:

    Dr Tom
    What a beautiful vision of light, hope and God’s promises to let us start again… and again… and again in spite of our dark sinfulness which can NEVER overcome His light and healing. What a perfect reflection to start my day, my birthday – a time to begin again. Thank you for such a very special gift.
    with love, thanks and prayers, LP

  2. Joanna Brady says:

    Dear Dr Tom, your posts have such an amazingly timely relivance to them:the Holy Spirit seems to use them to confirm his action in my life.Thankyou for opening up this little community of love.May God continue to bless you.

  3. number one sinner... says:

    And many,many,many more… I end all of our family birthday party’s with the bday song and that verse… Dearest LP I thank our GOOD GOD for giving us you on this day just e few short years ago… I would like to ask for ALL the ANGELS and SAINTS and all of the readers of this blog to pray for the one of the tools that GOD used to bring me back to the fold,the other tool is the creater of this blog … this man is extraordinary. This man is virtuous to cause envy.humble to make one cry .the holiest of h well maybe not that holy .. . He is physically a giant . If you ever shake hands with him you lose your arm up to the elbow his hand is that big .my son who chose Micheal as his confirmation sponsor came up to me the first time he shook Micheals hand saying “dad I’ve never seen a hand so huge.” I could go on and on and on. I talked to him today and he shared with me that a form of cancer he had taken care of within the last year had returned. I started with my boo hoo Micheal… but he would have none of it.. He quickly eased my pain withan attitude so typical of one who trusts the HOLY THREE so totally … he’s covered with the love of our GOOD GOD, but I still want him around until I die. GOD cantake him the day after that if he wants …If you haven’t realized I don’t do loss very well …and its all about me … so if you would keep this GOOD ,GOOD, GOOD man in your prayers I will will my indulgences to all of you … P.B.W.Y.all always
    .

  4. nos says:

    Great ,great , great news ,,, due to my limited capacity to understand not only the theology of this blog nor the medical speak of informed people like my cancer FREE friend Micheal I will now only comment on things I know about ,,, which in my case is obviously very little. All kidding aside. I apologize to you all for my premature worry .

    P.S. the indulgence offer is hereby rescinded, it looks as though I’m going to be in need of them P.B.W.Y. ALL always

    • No prayer is ever ever wasted, nor is the intention behind your offering of surrendering all your indulgence benefits to others unnoticed by the Almighty, NOS! Your insights here are always penetrating and awesome and fun. AWYS! TJMFJN

  5. nos. says:

    Dearest Dr. Kneel,, your dear friend Micheal said the same thing , what’s that saying about great minds,,,,, hmmmm I can’t seem to recall. AGAPE TO ALL… there’s a misconception that … lol… is an acronym for laughing out loud. It is not, in longhand it stands for LOVING OUT LOUD … and as ST Francis said … sometimes use words … your to kind good doctah… ps. I’m working on your acronym give me time…P.B.W.Y.A.A.

Leave a Reply

