Crickets, Give Thanks and Praise!

Repost 2013

I am overwhelmed by an unusual sense of gratitude today, a strange thankfulness for a fact that I mostly overlook and take for granted: that creation exists at all. That I exist. I felt overwhelmed with appreciation that I, and all things, have received from our common Creator an irrevocable vocation: to be. As I thought of the phrase, “God has called all things into being,” I realized that simply existing gives me a rock-solid sense of meaning, of value, of purpose. Abiding in the divine gaze: “Very good!” (Genesis 1:31). Every other vocation builds on that one. Today, being super-sufficed to fill me with joy.

Because I agree with Hans Christian Andersen’s comment, “Where words fail, music speaks,” I would like to steal some music from creation to fittingly sing to God, sing a new song. Someone who knew I loved nature sent me a link to an article with an audio embedded in it. I found what I heard so astonishingly beautiful — sat and listened for almost an hour — that I just had to share it with you. The article says, “Composer Jim Wilson has recorded the sound of crickets and then slowed down the recording. The crickets sound like they are singing with an angelic chorus in perfect harmony. Though it sounds like human voices, everything you hear in the recording is the crickets themselves.”

Enjoy the Cricket Symphony:

And then pray the cosmic liturgy of creation those crickets join in on:

Bless the Lord, all you works of the Lord
Praise and exalt Him above all forever
Angels of the Lord bless the Lord.
You heavens, bles the Lord
All you waters above the heavens, bless the Lord
All you hosts of the Lord, Bless the Lord
Sun and Moon, Bless the Lord
Stars of heaven, bless the Lord.
Every shower and dew, bless the Lord.
All you winds, bless the Lord
Fire and Heat, bless the Lord

Cold and chill, bless the Lord
Dew and rain, bless the Lord
Frost and chill, bless the Lord
Ice and Snow, bless the Lord
Nights and days, bless the Lord
Light and darkness, bless the Lord
Lightings and clouds, bless the Lord

Let the earth bless the Lord
Praise and exalt Him above all forever.

Mountains and hills, bless the Lord
Everything growing from the earth, bless the Lord
You sprints, bless the Lord
Seas and rivers, bless the Lord
You dolphins and all water creatures, bless the Lord
All you birds of the air, bless the Lord.
All you beasts, wild and tame, bless the Lord
You sons of men, bless the Lord.

O Israel, bless the Lord
Praise and exalt Him above all forever.

Priests of the Lord, bless the Lord
Servants of the Lord, bless the Lord
Spirits and souls of the just, bless the Lord.
Holy men of humble heart, bless the Lord.
Hananiah, Azariah, Mishael, bless the Lord.

Praise and exalt Him above all forever. — Daniel 3:57-88

This entry was posted in Cool.

6 comments on “Crickets, Give Thanks and Praise!

  1. Catholic Glasses says:

    Reblogged this on Catholic Glasses and commented:
    Cool

  2. number one sinner. says:

    No symphony by man ever sounded more heavenly…never again will I walk through my garden at that time of day when night starts to fall andthat cacophony of sound before so shrill becomes that chorus that beautiful symphony from but one of GODS awesome ” bugs” …

    P.S. could someone get a hold of Mr. J. Wilson and have him do mosquitoes and ticks next …. I need a reason to love them.

  3. Jennifer says:

    See! God’s math! Harmonies in music are all about ratios or fractions, and that each interval seems to evoke a distinct yet universal emotional reactions is, to me, incredible evidence that our brains are wired to hear God speaking to and through His creation in His native language. Glory to God in the firmament of the heavens! Glory to thee in every meadow of crickets!

  4. nos. says:

    As I lay my head on my pillow much later than I wanted, I say heal me LORD. As Red Skelton said at the end of his variety show many years ago. Good night and may GOD. Bless. Dearest Thomas thank you for not hiding your light under that bushel basket for this sinner has need of such guidance.. P.B.W .Y.A.A…

Leave a Reply

