You bleed

After going to bed last night my daughter came downstairs with tears in her eyes. Before I saw her eyes, I said: “Get back to bed! You need your sleep.” She said, “It’s just something I have to tell you. It’s nice.” I said gruffly, “What?”  Then I saw her tears. She said, with me-crushing tenderness: “Dad, this song we sang today in school in Celebration [liturgy choir]. The words. ‘You bleed to heal us…’ It’s so beautiful. So sad.”

She just looked at me. I hugged her and told her what a compassionate heart she had. She went back upstairs. Silence.

I saw all of my day flash in front of me. Busy, rushed, tasks, problems, frustrations, faltering, tired. I suddenly saw everything otherwise. Childhood awakened. The eternal innocence of God. That face. Bleeding to heal us. That tender face, turned toward us. Just listen, really carefully. Sense it?

I melted, surrendering my callous exhaustion. His face in her face.

I pressed my face in my hands, and muttered: “That’s the meaning in all things. How do I forget?”

Then this video flashed in my mind:

5 comments on “You bleed

  1. Laura T. says:

    “His face in her face.”

    I feel like I’ve been punched in the stomach.

    Thank you for reminding us to see Jesus in everyone.

  2. Anthony says:

    This past weekend, at a retreat, Fr Philip Merdinger said that a recent intuition of the Holy Spirit in his life was the sense that Pope Francis is teaching the Church to look at people with the gaze of Christ.

    Also, this talk by Cardinal Tagle includes some beautiful reflections on the woundedness of Christ. 1) Christ heals by becoming wounded. 2) His glorious body still has scars. 3) We all have a gift of healing, because we’re all wounded.

Leave a Reply

