On Prayer

Just for fun, I had a free 30 minutes yesterday and decided to record part of a talk on prayer that I gave recently. I sat at my desk, hit record and read my notes. It’s about 18 minutes long. As before I hope it will not act as NealQuil™

Again, my plan is to resume posting again October 1st. But I reserve the right to randomly burst on the scene again if life so conspires. 🙂

Listen here:

This entry was posted in Prayer.

16 comments on “On Prayer

  1. Louise says:

    Beautiful….and very timely. I’ve missed your posts – thanks

  2. First: how wonderful it would be to “hear” from you like this once a week or so- I would love to make it part of my Sunday every week! Like getting to sit in on one of your lectures.
    Second: thank you for the enlightening teaching on the subject of prayer it was a real eye opener

  3. trudymm says:

    Thank you for sharing about prayer, listening to your audio turned into a little prayer rendezvous. It afforded the opportunity for stepping back and scanning my prayer horizon. A scripture immediately came to mind:
    📖 John 15:15 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing”

    Like a flashing neon sign, attracting my attention were the words “vine” and “branches”. With the emphasis on those words, this contemplation unfolded: The goal is that no matter how many blossoms are found on the branch, the bottom line is: “Prayer in the raw”. The branch must remain spiritually healthy and perpetually connected to the vine. Blossoms on the branches are the varied methods and forms of prayer, coming and going, whereas “prayer in the raw” is the branch being connected to the vine constantly drawing spiritual nourishment.

    🔸Proper spiritual nourishment
    🔸With the goal being flourishment
    🔸Results in a relationship filled with contentment
    🔸Possible for all cause of grace & mercy that’s God sent.

    Since God is always with us, the initiation of prayer is always in effect as we are connected to the vine. Our response in regards to that eternal connection is to understand that we are to make our life a prayer. Every waking moment, by walking in the spirit, we can live and move and have our being in Christ.
    📖 Acts 17:28 “For in him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring”

    Thank God for His graces that makes this a reality, as busy times are no longer barriers or interruptions to communing with God in prayer. That is to me prayer par excellence. The abiding in God and with God, is our “prayer in the raw”, accompanied by dazzling interludes of structured prayer times.
    📖 1 Thessalonians 5:17 “Pray without ceasing”

    The culmination of all of this was the discovery of this book:
    📕 “Prayer-book for religious : a complete manual of prayers and devotions for the use of the members of all religious communities”
    Free Pdf download: https://ia800300.us.archive.org/27/items/prayerbookreligi00lasauoft/prayerbookreligi00lasauoft.pdf

    My preference is an ePub download for the PDF Max Pro App:
    https://ia600300.us.archive.org/27/items/prayerbookreligi00lasauoft/prayerbookreligi00lasauoft.epub

    A little lagniappe by sharing the text mess sent out today, it seems it can speak in some way about prayer. May you find this another morsel to enjoy and savor on this day of worship and rest:
    📌 St. Catherine of Genoa “For a work to be perfect, it must be wrought in us, without our corporation as principal agents; it must be God’s work, done in God, and man must not in any way take the lead. Such precisely is that operation of his pure and simple love which God finally works in us, without any merit of our own.

    Thanks again for indirectly directing my morning time of prayer.

    Ⓦⓗⓨ e͜͡l͜͡s͜͡e͜͡ b͜͡ i͜͡n͜͡ i͜͡t͜͡, i͜͡f͜͡ n͜͡o͜͡t͜͡ 2w͜͡i͜͡n͜͡ i͜͡t͜͡?
    Ⓦⓘⓣⓗ d͜͡a͜͡ h͜͡e͜͡a͜͡v͜͡e͜͡n͜͡l͜͡y͜͡ p͜͡r͜͡i͜͡z͜͡e͜͡, a͜͡l͜͡w͜͡a͜͡y͜͡s͜͡ i͜͡n͜͡ s͜͡i͜͡g͜͡h͜͡t͜͡ b͜͡4 y͜͡o͜͡u͜͡r͜͡ e͜͡y͜͡e͜͡s͜͡
    Ⓛⓔⓣ d͜͡a͜͡i͜͡l͜͡y͜͡ m͜͡e͜͡t͜͡a͜͡n͜͡o͜͡i͜͡a͜͡ & t͜͡r͜͡a͜͡n͜͡s͜͡f͜͡o͜͡r͜͡m͜͡a͜͡t͜͡i͜͡o͜͡n͜͡ c͜͡o͜͡m͜͡e͜͡ 2f͜͡r͜͡u͜͡i͜͡t͜͡i͜͡o͜͡n͜͡
    i͜͡n͜͡ Ch͜͡r͜͡i͜͡s͜͡t͜͡Ⓙⓔⓢⓤⓢ, y͜͡o͜͡u͜͡’l͜͡l͜͡ t͜͡h͜͡e͜͡n͜͡ b͜͡ a͜͡b͜͡l͜͡e͜͡ 2c͜͡o͜͡m͜͡p͜͡l͜͡e͜͡t͜͡e͜͡ y͜͡o͜͡u͜͡r͜͡ m͜͡i͜͡s͜͡s͜͡i͜͡o͜͡n͜͡

    ✞ⓂⓂ/℘✞L̶o̶r̶d̶ \o/
    http://gigapostolate.weebly.com/ |
    / \

  4. marta says:

    I find I tear up often during prayer especially my times praying before the Blessed Sacrament and I worry that it makes it too much about my emotions and not about Him. Do you have any thoughts or advice concerning this?

    • So much to say! Simple response: relating to God with our emotions is essential as they are part of who we are, and are the engine that moves us to action. When we cross over from healthy emotions to unhealthy emotionalism, I’d say these are the signs the spiritual authors would highlight: emotions are not in their rightful place in prayer (1) when emotions begin to become the primary criterion for growth and success/failure in prayer; (2) when we become overly dependent on emotions as our motivation to pray; (3) when emotions overwhelm our ability to make sound judgments; (4) when we mistake emotions for God himself (e.g. when I feel happy God is happy, when I feel sad God is displeased); or (5) when our attachment to pleasurable or intense emotions inspires us to avoid the more difficult, dry, mundane aspects of the Christian life that are part and parcel of fidelity to daily duty that demands we transcend this or that emotion in living out our vocation or remaining faithful to a discipline of daily prayer. That said, emotion-laden tears in prayer can be a great gift from the Lord (the Desert Fathers named them a gift of the Spirit!) inasmuch as they can be cathartic, allowing us to express sorrow for sin, grief over loss, joy, gratitude, etc. When emotions are brought into prayer in a healthy way, it allows God’s grace opportunity to heal and purge and refine them so that they might also become aligned with His will; so that we might desire His will at every level of our humanity. You can also think about emotions in terms of St Ignatius of Loyola’s consolation and desolation cycle, as those alternating “states of the soul” are deeply bound up with our emotional (affective) life. Marta, the fact that you tear up before the exposed Holy Eucharist is in itself certainly NOT a problem, and likely, from what I can ascertain from the tone of your brief question, is simply an “overflow” of your deep intimacy with our Lord. Let me suggest that when your tears flow in prayer, that you join them with the Jesus of John 11:35: “And Jesus wept.”
      Hope that was of use. Blessings! Dr Tom

      • marta says:

        Thank you so much. This is something I have been pondering for a while. You were extremely helpful. I truly understand the mundane and am working on perseverance always. Have a blessed day.

  5. Melissa T says:

    Very timely….I do enjoy your posts and that you graciously share the wisdom of the faith you have gleaned from others over the years! I actually preferred to ‘listen’ this morning, finding that I am struggling to make morning prayer deeper and more meaningful; you did the ‘heavy lifting’ for me, per se, since reading anything can be a challenge when trying to adequately absorb the message! Thank you and God Bless all your work!

  6. Sherri Paris says:

    Tom, I just now got around to listening to this–it was fantastic!! I found it very thought-provoking and will keep it for reference. (No Nealquil at all–;-)

  7. Jennifer says:

    dT, this is so beautiful. I’ve listened twice now and sent it to my husband. Next time I’ll take notes… but one thing that struck me was St. Edith Stein’s experience of seeing this woman entering the Cathedral, and how profound that act of faithful devotion ended up being! Imagine how God used that woman to shape a stranger who became a saint! Wow! We never know how our small acts of love and devotion are going to impact others. What a beautiful reminder to me to always, always, always testify to God’s awesome love with every act of my life. More than just willing to do it, or looking for opportunities, it has to become who I am 24/7. Thank you for YOUR incredible example of loving devotion to Our Father and for rubbing off on all of us.
    peace,
    jf

  8. nos says:

    “WHO DO YOU SAY THAT — I AM— “

Leave a Reply

