Resuming

bbci.co.uk

Today is St. Jerome’s feast. He’s the patron of Scripture scholars. Brilliant linguist, interpreter of Holy Writ and a cantankerous man whose sainthood should give clear evidence that holiness can be compatible with an acerbic temperament. The same Jerome who famously said, “Ignorance of the Scriptures is ignorance of Christ,” also remarked about one of his critics, “…so you say that Dormitianus has again opened his stinking mouth and emitted some foul putrescence against relics of the martyrs?”

There’s humorous story told of Pope Sixtus V that, while looking at a picture of St. Jerome beating his chest with a stone, said, as if addressing the saint in person, “you do well to hold that stone, for without it the Church would never have canonized you.”

Also, here’s my favorite 7 minute recap of Pope Francis’ astonishing pastoral visit to the U.S. Though we live in a secularized culture largely innoculated against intrusions of the transcendent, the papacy retains its power to lead us beyond the threshold of hope to where the FarNear awaits us. Watch here:

I will be resuming posting tomorrow, but at least for a while it may be somewhat sporadic as work has not really let up. But I feel compelled to resume (hopefully because of 2 Cor. 5:14). Deo gratias.

I am grateful to return, and grateful to those who return with me.

[I am also aware there’s something odd about announcing a return to posting with a post]

10 comments on “Resuming

  1. P J Madden says:

    Much appreciated! God bless,

  2. oneview says:

    Thank you! I was looking for a good, brief video review to share with our RCIA inquirers. Bless you!

  3. Pat Beckett says:

    Thank you, Tom. We were at the beach with our grandchildren for the Pope’s visit and had no TV reception or internet so I really enjoyed the video. Hugs and prayers.
    Pat

  4. Hi Tom,

    Welcome back! I enjoyed watching the video. I even glimpsed Fr John Cihak, who is one of the priests who attends Pope Francis at Mass. Fr John is from my home parish of Corvallis, Oregon! It feels rather amazing to be only one degree of separation from His Holiness. 😉

    With love and gratitude,
    Tara

  5. nos. says:

    I’m awake for the duration, so don’t take to long you k n ow how I love my rest…

Leave a Reply

