A simple gaze

IMG_1517 (1)

“It takes lot of butterflies to make a world full of flowers” ― Trina Paulus

I saw these on the morning of January 13 in a public lot near our home. Midwinter hope!

I stopped my car to look more closely. I could have kept company with those flowers for hours.

St Thomas Aquinas defines contemplation as a “simple gaze on truth.” I could have simply gazed, remaining to receive their selfless gift of beauty, the splendor of truth. To not seemed a reckless waste of sheer gratuity. The butterflies are away right now.

But I had to get to work.

Glimpses of beauty are fleeting in this life. I hope to see them again in the new creation, where, in hope, I will be free to pass time away, along with the butterflies. There in the re-creation, where all sacraments will have passed over into what they signify, what are now only rumors of divine glory will then blaze.

It is the Holy Spirit who makes us find joy in each flower, the exquisite scent, the delicate color, the beauty of the Most High in the tiniest of things. Glory and honor to the Spirit, the Giver of Life, who covers the fields with their carpet of flowers, crowns the harvest with gold, and gives to us the joy of gazing at it with our eyes. O be joyful and sing to Him: Alleluia! — From the Orthodox Akathist: “Glory to God for All Things”

 

2 comments on “A simple gaze

  1. nos says:

    “A simple gaze on truth ” Fr. John Corapi ( keep him in your prayers) use to say and perhaps still does ” truth isn’t something it’s somebody and that somebody is JESUS CHRIST !!!!!!! I use to look at most things with such indifference . Until our good GOD blessed me with the grace to see beauty in things most people would view as ugly,the lonely dung beetle working hard to bring supper home,the pile of black soldier fly larvae hard at work decomposing the pile of dead organic matter ,the ugly vulture picking at the poor armadillo run over by time.the piles of leaves being readied to burn,the termite hard at work on the fallen tree way back in the yard and lastly for me my wife’s Chinese crested dog Fergus voted the ugliest dog breed in 2014. I’m sorry dear he’s beautiful— not…thank you for prompting my thoughts today to view all of GODS creation as beautiful Thomas… tell the pope time draws nearer.. to reflect on his past 4years with his friends and realize the great blessing of those friends … P.B.W.Y.A.A. the jew…

    • NOS, thank you for making known this grace you have received to see beauty in the most despised creatures — close to the Heart of God! As this reflection reflects one of my most cherished insights I am grateful you acknowledged it and added to it.
      I will tell the pope your message (for readers, the pope is one of my sons; long story), and spend time with him looking back. He has great friends, indeed, and they will be joining him in college, which is a great grace. Peace to you and your family these holy days. tjmfjn

Leave a Reply

