Forget about me, I love you.

“Resurrection,” Piero della Francesca (1422-1492). historyofpainters.com

Easter Monday. Second day of the Octave, i.e. the eight days of the Eighth Day. The day God laughed, as my wife loves to say. Bright Monday, as they call it in the East.

I want to offer a simple insight today, which encapsulates the entire purpose of God’s saving economy that crescendos in the Resurrection of Christ: to restore the human family to a community of love. The family is the privileged locus where humanity learns the contours of a civilization built on love. In the words of St. John Paul II:

The family is the first and fundamental school of social living: as a community of love, it finds in self-giving the law that guides it and makes it grow. The self- giving that inspires the love of husband and wife for each other is the model and norm for the self-giving that must be practiced in the relationships between brothers and sisters and the different generations living together in the family. And the communion and sharing that are part of everyday life in the home at times of joy and at times of difficulty are the most concrete and effective pedagogy for the active, responsible and fruitful inclusion of the children in the wider horizon of society.

To make this point with a touch of oomph, let me share with you the second video I made of Fr. Stan Fortuna, CFR back in Lent. I asked him to offer a message for my children, and this is what he came up with. Short and sweet ( note the family acronym, and my bumbling enthusiasm):

4 comments on “Forget about me, I love you.

  1. Nos says:

    What a nut!!! I love him , except for that awful new Yok accent…

    P.S. feel free to send me all your excess easter candy…P.B.W.Y.A.A.

    • God loves the Yankees, too, NOS. 🙂

    • Jennifer says:

      wait, wait.. a Floridian is criticizing a New Yorker’s accent? (says the Canadian with her tongue firmly planted in cheek). This was awesome and I listened to it about six times in a row yesterday (mainly because i couldn’t understand his accent, ahem) so now it’s stuck in my head and I’ve been singing it to my family too. LOVE!

  2. WoopieCushion says:

    I’ll dedicate my Easter season prep for Pentecost beggin for the Holy Spirit to give me the gift of becoming a rapper like Fr. Stan. : )

Leave a Reply

