Iconic meditations

Let me give the words a rest and allow images to prevail. A self indulgent post as these are a few of my favorite things. All taken with my phone. Under each picture is a brief commentary.

IMG_2118

I drove by this field in New Orleans last week.

GoldenRod

Last November near our home.

IMG_2127

At the pump station along the levee just after a flooding rain

IMG_2128

No comment needed

IMG_2126

After that same storm, looking down the very full canal

IMG_1831

Brunch at the home of dear friends

IMG_1771

My daughter Catherine’s art before completion (note it’s made of the letters of her name)

IMG_1772

After completion

FullSizeRender (1)

Epitome of my humor

IMG_0338

My daughter’s annual Christmas building project

Omaha Jesus

An Icon in the Omaha Cathedral of St. Cecilia. By means of this icon Christ, back in the summer of 2013, taught me two things. First, how to accept being looked *into* by those all-seeing Eyes. Second, how to accept being looked into with love, without shame. From that I concluded icons are not windows for looking into Heaven, but windows for being looked into by Heaven.

D

5 comments on “Iconic meditations

  1. Mandie says:

    Love love love this post.

  2. nos. says:

    I’m singing the P.B.R. blues baby , I love your eclectic taste my friend … GOD IS SO GOOD…

  3. Marta says:

    More times than not it’s like you’ve been in my mind. Would love to sit and chat with you, but know that’s not possible. I so appreciate your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

