A Day in the Life

I took some fun pictures and recorded some sounds this last week of things that, for various reasons, captured my attention. I include captions.

img_4134

What can I say? Heaven spotlighted for me this odd piece of New Orleans artwork as I drove by. The man behind me beeped with impatience as I paused to snap this shot.

img_4137

The International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Our Lady of Fatima, sculpted in 1947, has visited 100 countries and came to New Orleans this last week. My 90-year old mom and I prayed in front of her last Saturday. My mom’s prayers are nuclear.

img_4141

Someone left their coffee thermos on the levee. No one in sight anywhere.

img_4142

Someone left their champagne bottle on the levee, 300 yards from the coffee thermos. Also no one in sight.

img_4144

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

img_4145

December 17. Quietly protesting the claims of winter.

img_4146

Welcome relief after a 45 minute walk-run along the levee.

img_4147

Festive neighbors.

img_3661-1

A December Monarch on a holdout goldenrod!

img_4151

Party bus stopping at a neighbor’s house. They were rockin!

img_3071

I made a Twenty One Pilots symbol with my ketchup.

img_4011

Catherine’s sketch of a wolf.

I took a 7 hour bus ride this week, and during the ride, as I was writing a lecture on the Mass, this announcement came on:

Maria’s high school, Mount Carmel Academy, had their Christmas concert the week before last, and I recorded them singing their Alma Mater. It always gets toΒ Patti and me.

8 comments on “A Day in the Life

  1. Kathy Grobe says:

    OK, so where can I go to hear this alma mater? Is it on YouTube, or maybe Mount Carmel’s website. And, BTW, you are a saint for even considering a 7-hour bus ride, let alone taking one! πŸ™‚

  2. Victorious Love's husband says:

    Thank you for making the realities of simple things come to life!!
    I admire and am so deeply blessed by the life in you that exudes through your writings and your glorious array of photos 😊 Pure joy!
    Happy Advent Neal family!

  3. beads2rosaries says:

    Great pics-you could have been a martyred for the casue of stopping traffic

Leave a Reply

