Real Love and a New Miriam

“Miriam Dancing,” Carlo Maratti, 1710.

img_3939

[I accidentally posted this yesterday. Now is the acceptable time.]

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
Love like you’ll never be hurt,
Sing like there’s nobody listening,
And live like it’s heaven on earth.” ― William W. Purkey

“Then the prophet Miriam, Aaron’s sister,
took a tambourine in her hand;
and all the women went out after her
with tambourines and with dancing.” – Ex. 15:20

Obviously I love to write about my marriage and family on NealObstat, and I am exceedingly grateful for people’s indulgence of this penchant of mine.

For those who read my blog post on the feast of the Baptism of the Lord this year, they will remember the audio clip I shared of my wife, Patti, and Cornelius “CC” Celestine together singing the spiritual, Wade in the Water. Well, Friday night, CC invited Patti and me to see him perform with his Motown singing group, Real Love, at Sweet Lorraine’s Jazz Club in New Orleans. Four hours of electric energy rushing through the 50 or so patrons there to hear the performance. Most of the music was from the 60’s and 70’s, which we both love. But when they played Bruno Mars’ Uptown Funk, Patti jumped to her feet and cut a rug.

As I talk often about Patti’s dancing, I decided to catch her on film so I could share with you exactly what it is I’m talking about. Sadly, my phone recording does a terrible injustice to the music, and it’s a bit dark, but good enough to offer you a glimpse. Best part was she had no clue I was filming.

CC is the singer at the middle microphone.

This entry was posted in Cool.

2 comments on “Real Love and a New Miriam

  1. Adrienne says:

    You do tend to write a lot about your marriage. This makes it painful for those of us with bad marriages. I enjoy what you write when it doesn’t seem to center around your family. But it is a mixed bag. I never know when I open your e-mail if it will help me or not. Pray for us who don’t live in happy marriages, but can’t swallow the lie about divorce.

Leave a Reply

