This week

NealObstat Readers:

Thank you for being part of this Blog, and allowing me to share with you my insights and the insights of others into the infinite implications of faith in Jesus Christ. These last two weeks have been remarkable in terms of feedback I have received on posts. In particular, the post reflecting on Sherlock received many more views than I am accustomed to because someone put my work on Facebook. I am very grateful.

I have a hectic rest of the work week and then give a retreat over the weekend. Please pray for these things, if you would.

I include below a haunting video of the rhythmic and litanic Jesus Prayer, chanted by monks in Russian at the Valaam monastery. That Prayer is among the most beloved devotions of the Eastern Church. It bears a power that at times leaves one shaken to the core. That Name.

I highly recommend it. I use a simpler version of the prayer, and pray it over and over: Lord Jesus, Son of God, have mercy on me. 

Here’s the Russian text from the video, and the full English translation:

Russian: Gospodi, Iisuse Hriste, Syne Bozhij, pomiluj mja, greshnago.

English: Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

9 comments on “This week

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for sharing your remarkable posts! God bless you in your work and God bless your retreatants this weekend. You are in my prayers.

    J

  2. DismasDancing says:

    Beautiful, brother Tom,

    You never fail to come up with a blog that strikes a hard blow right between the “running lights” of my soul, always serving to remind me that I am, like all of mankind, a sinner. Your post reminded me in a big way how I came to fully understand the great magnitude of what being a sinner means to Our Lord, to our own souls, and to the entire Communion of Saints.

    The last prayers I mentally recite when my head hits the pillow at night are “The Memorare”, “Anima Christi”, and the “Jesus Prayer”. When temptation runs rampant through my mind, I run (sprint) to Jesus through that prayer, reminding myself of St. Paul’s words, “I can do all things in Jesus who is my strength!”

    I have emailed you a longer version of this comment that explains how I got here from there. Thanks so much for your always-gracious patience.

    Peace, my brother! DD

  3. DismasDancing says:

    By the way, Professor, do you do retreats for folks who follow you and live closely enough to attend them, IF conducted in NOLA? Would love to attend one of yours.

    Peace and prayers that your wisdom, knowledge, and love of Our Lord penetrates to the hearts and souls of your retreatants and brings them to a new level of passion for living always in the Lord!

    DD

    • Thank you, DD, again. And for your email which I will reply to next week. So rich. I am doing my retreat in Iowa this time. I accept invitations to give retreats when they come, but don’t seek them out. If you think it would be a service, feel free to email me. Thank you for even asking. And thank you for the prayers.

  4. GuadaGirl says:

    Praying for you Dr. Neal! Our Lady has your back! Beautiful work you re-posted so much to ponder in my heart. Get some rest in the arms of our Lord Jesus.

    Lord, now you let your servant go in peace; your word has been fulfilled: my own eyes have seen the salvation which you have prepared in the sight of every people: a light to reveal you to the nations and the glory of your people Israel. Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

    Ant. Protect us, Lord, as we stay awake; watch over us as we sleep, that awake, we may keep watch with Christ, and asleep, rest in His peace (alleluia).

  5. Katy says:

    Tom, thank you again for writing. Your words, reflections, and prayers shed light on the depths and heights of the ‘drama of the life of prayer’. Thank you for teaching me what prayer can look like.
    May Our Father make your week and the retreat clear, simple, easy, and full of joy and love. With appreciation and continued prayers, Katy

  6. Carol Reed Shutley says:

    I love that prayer. Thank you for reminding me. I need to reread the little book, Beginning to Pray by Bloom

Leave a Reply

