Mother, Hearer of the heart’s cry

nursia.org

At the end of life we will not be judged by how many diplomas we have received, how much money we have made, how many great things we have done. I am not sure exactly what heaven will be like, but I do know that when we die and it comes time for God to judge us, he will ask, How much love did you put into what you did?” ― Mother Teresa

As I have felt deeply moved these last days to write on Mother Teresa, let me end this series with a quote from Pope Francis’ homily at Mother’s canonization, and a song by the British electropop band, Ooberfüse. I believe it captures well the heart of Mother’s magnificent mission to shine light into the darkness and bring charity alive in the Church and in the world.

Mother Teresa, in all aspects of her life, was a generous dispenser of divine mercy, making herself available for everyone through her welcome and defence of human life, those unborn and those abandoned and discarded. She was committed to defending life, ceaselessly proclaiming that “the unborn are the weakest, the smallest, the most vulnerable”.

She bowed down before those who were spent, left to die on the side of the road, seeing in them their God-given dignity; she made her voice heard before the powers of this world, so that they might recognize their guilt for the crime of poverty they created. For Mother Teresa, mercy was the “salt” which gave flavour to her work, it was the “light” which shone in the darkness of the many who no longer had tears to shed for their poverty and suffering.

3 comments on “Mother, Hearer of the heart’s cry

  1. Nos. says:

    MY GOD MY GOD WHY HAVE YOU FORSAKEN ME! ! ! ! ! ! !.I have wondered how I would be after reading about her not hearing GOD again in her lifetime after the encounter on the train… unimaginable to me, my oh my ..simply unimaginable. Thank you Dr.Neal…be safe in that nasty weather.

    P.s. keep Ellen Murphy in your prayers she blew a knee out and is
    slacking I mean recouping at home…P.B.W.Y A.A.

  2. Nos says:

    How is it we take for granted those around us whom GOD has given us to be our Simon’s??????? Shame shame shame on me me me! ! ! ! ! ! !.

Leave a Reply

