Photo Thoughts

This week I am immersed in accreditation at our seminary — pray for us! — so I will likely be unable to post for a few days.

In the mean time, a fun post of pix with comments.

Fr. Peter Finney celebrates Mass on our family dining room table, and Deacon Ryan Hallford serves as Deacon. What a gift! I thought of Pope Francis: “In this perspective we can say that the family is ‘at home’ at Mass, precisely because it brings its own experience of life-together and opens it up to the grace of a universal life-together, of God’s love for the world. Sharing in the Eucharist, the family is purified of the temptation to close in upon itself; strengthened in love and fidelity, it broadens the boundaries of its own fellowship according to the heart of Christ.”

Our daughters and their friends who came to our home for Sunday Mass, fellowship, food, sacred and secular songs, catechesis, faith witness, laughter and joy.

Maria and Catherine before the Twenty One Pilots concert began. Those faces dismantle all resistance. I pray for daddy superpowers every day.

Maria and Catherine 12 years ago. Resistance is futile, a lost cause from the beginning. Again, daddy superpowers please, God.

St. Joseph’s Altar at the seminary for the Feast. Lent relented.

Fr. Dustin Feddon, one of my dearest life friends. Pater et frater. Altum, “Deep.” To see him celebrate Mass Saturday was unforgettable.

Saw this on my walk on Sunday with Catherine. I said, “Just a minute! Can’t let this go unnoticed.”

Yep.

img_4695

What’s it doing there? That’s just absurd. 3rd century theologian, Tertullian: “The Son of God was crucified: there is no shame, because it is shameful. And the Son of God died: it is by all means to be believed, because it is absurd. And, buried, He rose again: it is certain, because impossible.”

img_4601

Thank you.

img_4519

I think my writing is powered by 99% good caffeine, 1% inspiration. I consumed this one just before I started writing a post. It took me a few minutes to stop admiring the FoamArt before I sipped.

After Twenty One Pilots. Shameless Me.

The waves last Sunday — I spent a good 30 minutes lost in their rhythms:

Us singing (before Mass) at our Sunday house-church celebration:

8 comments on “Photo Thoughts

  1. What a joy to have Mass celebrated in your home with your family! Thanks for sharing with us!

  2. Mrs. Sandy Sanchez, O.P. says:

    Tom: That first flower has “5” little bulb like dots which I see representing the “5” wounds of Jesus on the Cross. Just an observation!!!
    How beautiful that is.

    Sandy Sanchez, O.P.
    “Dominican Laity”

  3. Nos. says:

    Beautiful,just beautiful the flowers too! ! ! Those two are so cute which I must add they received from mum… how special to have these future evangelizers gather in your your home to love and honor our LORD… Thomas you and Patti are such good gardeners ,planting seeds everywhere you go … ps tell the pope I hope his heart keeps burning … P.B.W.Y.A.A.

  4. Jerry Christopher, Jr. says:

    I am looking forward to the next time Mass will be celebrated in your home. “Take me home….West Virginia….Mountain Mama…” I want to hear about 21 Pilots concert too. Have a great weekend.

    With Gratitude,

    Jerry Christopher, Jr., LUTCF Financial Services Professional http://www.jerrydonut.com jerrychristopher@icloud.com Direct: 504-259-6138 Fax: 504-454-8415

    >

Leave a Reply

