Vox. Poetica. Deus mortuus est.

“The Crucifixion,” 1325 A.D. by Giotto. bp.blogspot.com

I guess I lied. I said no posts until after Easter, but two things happened in my path.

First, as I unpacked boxes in my new office yesterday I found an old collection of poetry I had written in the 1990’s+, bound in a beautiful case as a gift by a dear friend of mine. I sat and read them over. I found one I had written on a Good Friday and thought to share it here. Hope I did not already last year! My memory.

I almost never recite aloud poetry, so it is what it is!

Second, a young man emailed me yesterday morning and asked for some reflections “for understanding better the meaning of the Triduum — maybe some history and a little theology stuff.” How could I resist? So early this morning I jotted some notes out and decided to make a voice recording over morning coffee to save typing time. I had planned ~10 to 15 minutes, ended up 31 minutes long. Loquacious am I. Or as a candid friend said to me the other day, “Tom Neal, never an unblogged thought.”

May these Three Days be for you ones of special encounter with Christ. How He loves you.

8 comments on “Vox. Poetica. Deus mortuus est.

  1. Anna Marie Walker says:

    How awesome Thank you for your Easter gift a deep understanding of the Triduum and the Pascual mystery

  2. oneview says:

    Love this: “Tom Neal, never an unblogged thought.” What a gift to all of us who read your blog. Blessed Triduum!

  3. DismasDancing says:

    A voice. A poem. God is Dead!

    Sang for the Holy Thursday Mass. Communion meditation music was entitled “Jesus (Canon)”. Footnote: “Words and music unknown”. A hauntingly beautiful tune with one word: “Jesus”. Your reference to the Carthusian Monks’ motto re the Cross/Crucifixion being the nexus between our worldly existence and eternity struck me hard as I remembered last night’s tears that began to well up in my eyes as I sang. “Jesu. Jesu. Jesu.” After all, isn’t He the essence of the Triduum: Jesus?

    Wow! The profundity of your poem and the oral notes on what is happening during these three days beautifully compliment and complement everything I have read and contemplated re the Passion of Christ over the last six decades. Understanding both the historical and spiritual contexts of the entire redemption story makes its commemoration each year that much more powerful—and, more importantly, redemptive—for us sinners. The central focus, of course, is indeed “Jesus”, as so wonderfully demonstrated in a few simple measures of beautiful soul-uplifting music, AND through your inspired words.

    Thank you sincerely for opting to go against your plan not to post. Surely, the Holy Spirit is “at it again” re your (and our) Triduum activities.

    Lagniappe for Mass: “Parce Domine” [“Spare us O Lord”. Chanted during washing of the feet].
    Deo Gratias! Deo Gratias! Deo Gratias!

    In Pace.
    DD

    • I LOVE that you translate my Latin here. Makes my heart sing! And that you connect my work to what you experience and know and feel in your love for music. Thank you for all you have given me here, DD. And for your appreciation for my work. May Christ reward you. Peace in Him! tn

  4. Jennifer says:

    You need to podcast your blog more often! I was able to bake a cake and clean the kitchen at the same time… Thank you!

    So much richness in ask you’ve said, but one thing that jumped out, did you say ” the Eucharist and the priesthood are essentially the same thing”? If so, could you expand? I mean, I can think of how the Eucharist is the offering of a sacrifice and the priest offers the sacrifice; I can think of the Eucharist bring Jesus’ gift of self and the commitment to priesthood is a huge gift of self…But”essentially the same thing!?” I’m dying to hear more! Feel free to record a “dear Jennifer” talk. I’ll save you some cake.

    Oh, about the chrism Mass: in our diocese the bishop does some of the rites ahead of time, like the one you mentioned about adding the balsam to the oil…But this brings to mind one of my favourite parts of assisting with baptisms and handing the oils to the priest is that my hands always smell of balsam afterwards. So delicious. We had a balsam fir in our old backward….I imagine this is what heaven will smell like!

    PS: my daughter and middle son served Mass for the first time on Holy Thursday! It was the most beautiful moment for a mama to witness.

Leave a Reply

