Catholic school’s pledge: I swear not to swear. So help me God.

I’d love to see Catholic schools all over the nation, young men and women, make this pledge their Lenten school discipline in 2013, Going Purple and keeping the school atmosphere clean.

I discovered it this a.m. when I turned the radio on and happened on a talk-radio show where they were taking calls about “the pledge” and skewering the idea (humorously) as “BLEEPing unrealistic.”

Exactly. Utterly unrealistic=highly motivating for kids.

I vote for Unreal.

Female students at the Queen of Peace High School in North Arlington, N.J., stood up during homeroom Friday, raised their right hands, and recited a pledge in unison.

“I do solemnly promise not to use profanities of any kind within the walls and properties of Queen of Peace High School. In other words, I swear not to swear. So help me God,” they said.

Read more…

3 comments on “Catholic school’s pledge: I swear not to swear. So help me God.

  1. […] I’d love to see Catholic schools all over the nation, young men and women, make this pledge their Lenten school discipline in 2013, Going Purple and keeping the school atmosphere clean. I discovered it this a.m. when I turned the radio on and found it on a talk-radio show where they Source: Neal Obstat Theological Opining   […]

  2. Judy Svendsen says:

    I would love to see this at our school!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.